Why subscribe?

Because you think my perspective is interesting and/or helps you better understand yourself and others.

Who do I think I am?

I’m a CIS-gender, heteronormative white male who is aware of and constantly interrogates his privilege. I grew up in a middle-class white collar neighborhood and attended a private school through my sophomore year. That Thanksgiving my parents split up and I finished high school at a large public township high school. I lasted three semesters there before dropping out at the end of the first semester of my senior year to complete my three remaining credits in night school.

High school was largely a distraction from what I really wanted to do starting at the age of 15 - participate in the DIY hardcore punk scene and by extension, animal rights activism. I bombed my freshman year of college for that and other, related reasons and went to massage therapy school instead. I worked, played music in a few bands (Anthem Boy, Angelville, Salvation, booked shows, had my first nervous breakdown and went to school through my early 20s until I finished a BA in Telecommunications - Production from Indiana University.

I worked my way from freelancer to full-timer at the IndyStar, left to run the online operations of an MMA magazine, started a craft fair with my girlfriend, got married to said girlfriend, became full-time employee #12 at Sun King Brewing Co., opened a store with my wife, had a son, went back to IndyStar to be an editor, social media manager and data analyst, had two daughters, then worked at an advertising and PR agency until I didn’t, then worked for an agricultural trade association until I didn’t.

I (sporadically?) co-host a podcast with one of my best friends. I listen to a lot of different styles of music, but I always find my way back to Scandinavian metal or folk played by people from the Scandinavian metal scene. I watch a lot of European television. I love reading Nordic noir, American history, and Marvel comic books.

All of that means something. Or not.